Cringeworthy News

I swear, it’s like I’m trapped in the stone age even though I was born in the 90’s.

I read an article today titled “10 Things Every Journalist Should Know in 2013” published on journalism.co.uk. A few things on the list made my heart hurt a little bit…

#:1 It’s all about skills, skills, skills.

I’m a fan of all outlets of media. I get all tingly inside when I’m holding a newspaper in my hands. But I still like to watch the news broadcast at night before bed and listen to the news stations in the radio when i’m in my car. Heck, my favorite form of getting the news is via social media. I love when newspapers push their articles all over my twitter feed.

But when it comes to my future career, I’m not so versatile. I don’t want to be in front of a camera or microphone. I don’t want to write script or take photos or honestly have anything to do with anything online. I just want to be a simple reporter. I honestly think I’d be fully satisfied if I wrote articles for a local newspaper for the rest of my life. Don’t get me wrong, I love designing too. In fact, I’m pretty good at it. But I’d rather write.

I get that times are changing and the way people want their news is changing right along with it. But is it so bad that I just wish it would stop? Time, that is. I would’ve loved to have been a reporter in the 80’s back when things were simple and people read the newsPAPER. But I want a career one day so I guess I’ll have to put my big girl panties on and develop these “skills” or whatever… I’m only a freshman. I’ve got plenty of time.

Finally, #10: It is essential to embrace change.

Do I even need to elaborate?

Leave a comment